TUD FB  Mathematik
| Deutsch
  | Home | Institute of Mathematics | TU Darmstadt  
Contact
Research
Publications
Journals
Domains
Applied Proof Theory / Proof Mining
Algorithmic Model Theory
Staff
Events
Teaching
Research
 

Faculty: Klaus Keimel; Ulrich Kohlenbach; Martin Otto; Thomas Streicher; Martin Ziegler;

Christian Herrmann; Thomas Ihringer

Retired: Peter Burmeister; Rudolf Wille

The research group primarily represents the subject area of Mathematical Logic viewed as an applied foundational discipline between mathematics and computer science. Research activities focus on the application of proof theoretic, recursion theoretic, category theoretic, algebraic and model theoretic methods from mathematical logic to mathematics and computer science.

Beside classical mathematical logic (with proof theory, recursion theory and model theory) this involves constructive type theory, categorical logic, universal algebra, domain theory, lattice theory, finite model theory, and algorithmic issues.

Within mathematics, a primary field of applications in the proof- and recursion-theoretic setting (Kohlenbach) is the extraction of new information from proofs in algebra, analysis, functional analysis, hyperbolic geometry and numerical mathematics (proof mining). This involves qualitative aspects (e.g., independence of existence assertions from certain parameters) as well as quantitative aspects of computability and complexity of solutions (extraction of algorithms and bounds from proofs, exact real arithmetic, "computational mathematics": Kohlenbach, Streicher, sZiegler). Model theoretic investigations (Herrmann, Otto) make intra-mathematical links with algebra and discrete mathematics (Ihringer).

Concerning Logic in Computer Science and the mathematical foundations of computer science, major activities revolve around issues of semantics. On the one hand this involves the mathematical foundation of the semantics and the logic of programming languages (Keimel, Streicher); on the other hand, logics and formal systems are investigated in the sense of model theoretic semantics, w.r.t. expressiveness and definability, with an emphasis on computational aspects (algorithmic model theory, finite model theory: Otto). We investigate complexity issues from the point of view of functional programs (implicit computational complexity: Kohlenbach), in the descriptive (Otto) and the resource-oriented and structural sense (running time, memory, information theory and topology: Ziegler). Besides specific application domains in computer science, as, e.g., verification, data bases and knowledge representation, there is work on foundational issues in the areas of computability and complexity, as well as type theory and category theory.

Overall, the unit forms an internationally well connected cluster of expertise, with a characteristic emphasis on the connections that mathematical logic has to offer, both w.r.t. to other areas within mathematics and w.r.t. to the Logic in Computer Science spectrum.


Research group on Formal Concept Analysis. Based on lattice and order theoretic foundations, this group in the former AG1 (General Algebra and Discrete Mathematics) focuses on graphical logic systems for concept analysis in knowledge acquisition and processing applications (Burmeister, Wille). This research continues to be pursued in close co-operation with the ErnstSchröderZentrum für Begriffliche Wissensverarbeitung.


National and International Cooperations and Projects:
EU-Working Group APPSEM II (APPLIED SEMANTICS)
CCA (Computability and Complexity in Analysis)
MAP (Mathematics, Algorithms and Proofs)
Algorithmische Modelltheorie (Aachen/Berlin/Freiburg/Mainz/Marburg)
EPSRC project: Algorithmic Model Theory for Specific Domains (Otto)
ErnstSchröderZentrum, NaviCon


Martin Otto
Last modified: Fri May 21 09:40:48 CEST 2004

TUD FB  Mathematik
| English
  | Home | Fachbereich Mathematik | TU Darmstadt  
Kontakt
Forschung
Veröffentlichungen
Journals
Domains
Applied Proof Theory / Proof Mining
Algorithmic Model Theory
Mitarbeiter
Events
Lehre
Forschung
 

Professoren: Klaus Keimel; Ulrich Kohlenbach; Martin Otto; Thomas Streicher; Martin Ziegler;

Apl. Professoren: Christian Herrmann; Thomas Ihringer

Emeritierte und entpflichtete Professoren: Peter Burmeister; Rudolf Wille

Die Arbeitsgruppe repräsentiert die Mathematische Logik als angewandte Grundlagendisziplin zwischen Mathematik und Informatik. Die Forschungsaktivitäten konzentrieren sich auf die Anwendungen beweistheoretischer, rekursionstheoretischer, kategorieller, algebraischer und modelltheoretischer Methoden der Logik in Mathematik und Informatik.

Neben der klassischen Mathematischen Logik (Beweistheorie, Rekursionstheorie, Modelltheorie) spielen hier konstruktive und kategorielle Logik, Funktional- und Realisierbarkeitsinterpretationen, allgemeine Algebra, Domaintheorie, Verbandstheorie, endliche Modelltheorie und algorithmische Fragestellungen eine wesentliche Rolle.

Innermathematische Anwendungen der Beweis- und Rekursionstheorie (Kohlenbach) betreffen die Extraktion neuer Informationen aus Beweisen in Algebra, Funktionalanalysis, hyperbolischer Geometrie und numerischer Mathematik (Proof Mining). Dabei geht es sowohl um qualitative Aspekte (etwa die Unabhängigkeit von Existenzaussagen von gewissen Parametern) wie auch quantitative Aspekte der Berechenbarkeit und Komplexität von Lösungen (Extraktion von Algorithmen und Schranken aus Beweisen, exakte reelle Arithmetik, "computational mathematics": Kohlenbach, Streicher, Ziegler). Modelltheoretische Methoden (Herrmann, Otto) haben innermathematische Anknüpfungen in der Algebra und diskreten Mathematik (Ihringer).

Hinsichtlich der Logik in der Informatik und den mathematischen Grundlagen der Informatik stehen Aspekte der Semantik im Vordergrund. Darunter fällt einerseits die mathematische Grundlegung der Semantik und Logik von Programmiersprachen (Keimel, Streicher); andererseits die Analyse von Logiken von formalen Systemen im Sinne der modelltheoretischen Semantik, d.h. Untersuchungen zur Ausdruckstärke und Definierbarkeit, besonders auch unter algorithmischen Gesichtspunkten (algorithmische Modelltheorie, endliche Modelltheorie: Otto). Komplexität wird untersucht vom Blickwinkel funktionaler Programme aus (Implicit Computational Complexity: Kohlenbach), im deskriptiven Sinne (Otto) sowie ressourcen-orientiert und strukturell (Laufzeit, Speicherplatz, informationstheoretisch und topologisch: Ziegler). Neben speziellen Anwendungsfeldern in der Informatik, wie etwa Verifikation, Datenbanken und Wissensrepräsentation, werden Grundlagenfragen im Bereich der Berechenbarkeit und Komplexität, sowie der Typentheorie und Kategorientheorie bearbeitet.

Insgesamt bildet die Arbeitsgruppe einen international stark vernetzten Forschungsknoten, der sich durch die starke Betonung der vielfältigen Außenbeziehungen auszeichnet. Dies betrifft die Beziehungen sowohl zu anderen Bereichen der Mathematik als auch zur Informatik im internationalen Logic in Computer Science Spektrum.


Forschungsgruppe Begriffsanalyse: Auf der Grundlage der Ordnungs- und Verbandstheorie wird in der Forschungsgruppe der früheren AG1 (Allgemeine Algebra und diskrete Mathematik) vornehmlich die angewandte Seite der Formalen Begriffsanalyse mit einem Forschungsprogramm zu graphischen Logiksystemen in der Begrifflichen Wissensverarbeiteng verfolgt (Burmeister, Wille). Dieses Engagement wird in Kooperation mit dem ErnstSchröderZentrum für Begriffliche Wissensverarbeitung weiterbetrieben.


Kooperationen/Projekte
EU-Working Group APPSEM II (APPLIED SEMANTICS)
CCA (Computability and Complexity in Analysis)
MAP (Mathematics, Algorithms and Proofs)
Algorithmische Modelltheorie (Aachen/Berlin/Freiburg/Mainz/Marburg)
EPSRC project: Algorithmic Model Theory for Specific Domains (Otto)
ErnstSchröderZentrum, NaviCon


Martin Otto
Last modified: Fri May 21 09:40:48 CEST 2004